top of page

Kleine-Levin Syndrome or Sleeping Beauty Syndrome?


However, when I spoke to Helen Renouf (Jake's mum), and referred to it as this, she explained that some patients and family members may take offence to this term, and that I may want to consider referring to it as Kleine-Levin Syndrome if I would want Jake's help. I apologised if I caused offence as I didn't want to upset anyone.

At first, I didn't understand why it would cause offence. I thought this would be a useful question to ask in one of my interviews. When speaking to Meg about the term, she explained that it's because Sleeping Beauty is recognised as a beautiful princess who is in a nice, relaxing and undisturbed sleep, which is the complete opposite as to what Kleine-Levin Syndrome is. The condition is associated with being in a deep sleep throughout an episode however what I have learnt is that you can also be awake in an episode, and that there is a stereotype surrounding the condition.

You can listen to Meg's opinion here:

bottom of page